About Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney

Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney lies within the South East region of Wales. It consists of four valleys: the Merthyr Valley; Taff Bargoed Valley; Rhymney Valley and Darren Valley.

Two local councils cover the constituency, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council and Caerphilly County Borough Council. There are 15 electoral wards, these are:

Merthyr Tydfil: Bedlinog; Cyfarthfa; Dowlais; Gurnos; Merthyr Vale; Park; Penydarren; Plymouth; Town; Treharris and Vaynor.

Rhymney: Darren Valley; Moriah; New Tredegar; Pontlottyn and Twyn Carno.

The area has a rich and varied industrial history and was home to iron and steel works and numerous coalmines. Merthyr Tydfil was also home to the first Labour MP, Keir Hardie.

My colleague, Dai Havard MP, has produced an interesting and detailed history of Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymeny and it can be found here.

Situated close to the Brecon Beacons National Park and the bustling city of Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney has a great deal to offer. To explore the many attractions, historical sites and breathtaking views Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney has to offer, please visit www.visitmerthyr.co.uk and www.visitcaerphilly.com.